Started with the Hollingsworth Family

I first became interested in genealogy about the time I joined DAR in 1976.  Several aunts on my mother’s side of the family had belonged so I joined using a maternal ancestor.  But I really wanted to find one on my father’s side to add so I started looking into the Hollingsworth family.  I came upon an ad that Harry (Henry Albert) Hollingsworth (1931-1995)  – who published Hollingsworth Register from 1965 to 1991 – had placed in a genealogy magazine. I wrote to him and many of my Hollingsworth family blanks were filled in.  Unfortunately, most of the earliest Hollingsworth ancestors – including my Revolutionary era ancestor Joseph Hollingsworth (b. c 1735 Winchester, Frederick Co, VA; m. Margaret Wright Hammer 4 Jun 1768; d. 10 Sep 1792  Newberry, SC) – were observant Quakers so I still have no Hollingsworth patriot to add.  Of course, even pacifists did sometimes aid the Revolutionary cause by furnishing supplies or holding public office  so I’ve pencilled in as one of my projects to find out exactly what this Joseph Hollingsworth was doing during the American Revolution.  In the meantime I did find a few revolutionary patriots on my father’s side of the family and added them – William Margerum PA, John Wright SC (father-in-law of Joseph Hollingsworth), Joseph Barnes MA, and James Hawkins SC.  More about them later…

Published in: on November 8, 2009 at 11:59 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://genealogyramblings.wordpress.com/2009/11/08/started-with-the-hollingsworth-family/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

